Thin Blue Line

Supporting something does not mean you agree with everything, it simply means you believe and trust in it.

I’ll preface this by saying I’m sorry for not posting anything sooner, but fear not, I have been writing. I have three drafted posts saved and after I review them I’ll post them. They need some cleaning up.

On my way home tonight I came across a “Checkpoint Chickie.” There were four police cars and the officers checked the license and plates of every car passing through. My parents have warned me of such things and others have told me that sometimes officers stop people just to check to see if they have their licenses. It was an interesting experience since I’ve been driving for a while now and this was the first time it’s happened to me.

Now, I am a small, white woman. I have far less racial bias to deal with, but that does not make me any less susceptible to danger, violence, or crime. In fact, a week or two ago I passed a car on the same road only to have that car aggressively tailgate me, keep their brights on, and pass me illegally. The most unnerving part was the fact the car turned around. I assume to look for me to harass me some more. I will say I did also brake check them a couple times because I was annoyed both by the brights and the tailgating.

Probably not my best idea, but after they passed me I slowed way down to unlock my phone and dial in 911. I had it ready just in case they did turn around and did harass me again. Luckily, I did not see them behind me, but I did take a longer route home and eventually called the police to report the car and driver. I’ve dealt with road rage before. I’ve had people follow me to work and tell me they were going to beat my ass. I’ve had people get out of their cars in the middle of the road and charge at my car.

Road rage is not okay. If at any time you feel unsafe while driving do call the police and try to give them as much detail as you can – type and color of the car, license plate, and direction of travel. If time has passed also indicate that to the police.

I support the Thin Blue Line. I trust them to help me. I trust them to come when I call. I trust them correct me when I’ve done something wrong. I’ve gotten tickets before and rightfully deserved them.

Now, if you’re upset or offended by those statements, please go read the start of the post again before continuing. I have a story to tell you.

People don’t like President Trump. I don’t feel particularly about him one way or the other. He is simply my president. I have vague memories of President Bill Clinton, stronger memories of President George W. Bush, and the elections for President Obama and President Trump were ones I was able to vote in.

When President Obama was first elected it was historic. He was a black man as president and he had some radical ideas and agendas he wanted to push. When everyone was in an uproar and people were saying they would assassinate him I remember my mother telling me, “He is your President. Whether you agree with him or not, you should support him. It is not an easy job and there is a system in place to check and balance him.”

So, whether you agree with the police or not, they also need your support. There are laws and there is a system. Sure, some of them may be crooked or dirty. Sure, some of them get away with terrible things. The bad ones make the news, but you rarely see stories about a good police officer. You rarely hear whose life was saved or how they supported their community or how they improved someone’s day. And when something goes wrong… who else are you going to call?

Evie talking to Beni in the movie The Mummy.

That is my favorite scene in the movie The Mummy and one I have been thinking about a lot lately when something bad happens. Even if I can’t right the wrong, if the system fails me, then I fully believe in the end something else will come back to balance everything out.

The police are only human. They make mistakes just like all of us. They have families and dreams for the future. They want to survive another day. I think they also want to do good for their communities. So while tensions are still high, I hope people will take the time to think of the good the police do. Remember that. Remind them of that. Tell them thank you and wish them well.

We have a system. The system allows us to petition and lawfully assemble. The system allows us to make change. I’ll cover Black Lives Matter (BLM) in another post. It’s hard to feel good, much less do good, when the world is against you – when they think of the worst of you.

Leave a comment